Use any yarn to knit patterns by Rowan or Jeager

Use any yarn to knit patterns by Rowan or Jaeger.

I converted the number of stitches and rows needed to suit the yarn I used.

I am including this so that other knitters can use my conversion formula….

If for example the tension were as follows:

Rowan yarn tension – Brushed Fleece
13 sts and 19 rows to 10cm measured over st st using 6mm needles

Drops yarn tension – Alpaca Silk
17 sts and 24 rows to 10 cm measured over st st using 6mm needles

Adjustment for number of stitches needed to make 10cm st st in Alpaca Silk

To make the back of my garment using Rowan yarn I needed to cast on 74 stitches

I looked at how many times 13 sts were needed to make 74 stitches; you need 5.69 stitches (rounded to 6 but this will not necessarily give you what you need so I left mine as 5.69

I then looked at how many stitches I would get if I multiplied the number of stitches needed to make 10cms in my chosen yarn (eg Drops Alpaca Silk); I needed 17 sts to make 10cm in st st

Therefore, 17×5.6=96.73 which I then rounded up to 97 sts

I wanted my ribbing be the equivalent of the one in my pattern so I carried out the following formula

I need 19 rows to make 10cm measured over st st using 6mm needles and my pattern called for 12 rows of ribbing so I divided 19 by 12 found how may rows would give the nearest equivalent result and used that many rows (they did not give a measurement (eg 2cm of ribbing…).

Therefore, 19/12=1.58333

I then took 1.58 and multiplied the number of rows of my chosen yarn

24/15=1.6 so I need 15 rows to make my ribbing a similar length to the ribbing shown in my Rowan pattern

Use any yarn to knit patterns by Rowan or Jeager

Leave a comment